To book

In the south of the Landes, is the Château du Bec du Gave. This guest house castle offers a magnificent view of the Gave and is located in the heart of nature. Nestled on the banks of the river in Port-de-Lanne, it is surrounded by greenery and is the ideal place to recharge your batteries. The pleasure of our guests is our top priority and we do everything we can to provide them with an unforgettable experience.

Discover this exceptional place
Immerse yourself in history

Learn more about Château du Bec du Gave
From the beginning of the 18th century to the present

At the beginning of the 18th century, the Dutch Van Oosterom family acquired the estate which was originally a large farm. Justus Anthonis Van Oosterom was a Dutch merchant who settled in Bayonne in 1708 with his second wife Maria Pinckeveer and his four sons. Antoni Van Oosterom, one of his sons, was a wine merchant and married Françoise de Bruix, originally from Bayonne, in 1713. In 1744, he built the “clock house” at the confluence of the Gave and the Adour (the “Bec du Gave”), and his son, Richard van Oosterom (with the addition of “Dubec”), later enlarged the house.

The estate passed into the hands of Mr. Labarthe, postmaster by profession, after the Van Oosterom family. He owned the building during the French Revolution and had the chapel and a large barn built in 1791. Unfortunately, the barn burned down in 1966 following a 'a storm with lightning.

The current castle was built in 1852 by the banker Baron Pierre Henri d'Artigues. During this period of economic prosperity, the bourgeoisie wanted to display their success by taking inspiration from the hotels located in town. However, unlike these traditional houses, they built larger houses with a symmetrical layout.

Today, this castle is a true jewel of history, mixing different French influences, to the delight of its visitors. Now it's up to you to write the rest of History!